A Commercially Viable Twitter in the Works

As discussed in my post yesterday, I indicated that Twitter was starting to take serious  steps to leverage their social clout to the business world.  The recent announcement of ExecTweets was just the start (a 3rd party supported portal to Twitter exec tweets sponsored by Microsoft and put together by Federated Media).  I saw this announcement as a good form of income to Twitter to offset some of its costs required to achieve product maturity.

My Thoughts Enclosed…Rb

Today, I was flipping through my Wired RSS feed and found this post.  In the post, it was made clear that Twitter is now hiring internally to build a business oriented version at a cost to subscribers.  I am hoping for better security and performance as a starting point in their development.  This is a huge step for Twitter to continue to put its presence in the money generating world of business solutions.  It seems that they have the right idea of using 3rd party vendors mixed in with internal development.  I am speculating that once the business infrastructure is developed you will see more business third party implementations in addition to the Twitter commercial accounts being discussed at the present.  As for me, I still see Twitter as a great contributor to the concept of Daily Standups as discussed.  To recap my thoughts on the matter quickly, I put forward that the limited text size of Twitter blended in well with the short duration of a daily standup update and would provide another alternative to remote staff members to update the team on their activities and provide an avenue for assistance in the workplace.

Recommended Links:
5 thoughts on “A Commercially Viable Twitter in the Works

  1. Pingback: Issue 3: Collapsing Economies and Emerging Economies « My Thoughts Enclosed…

  2. Pingback: Emerging Economies « My Thoughts Enclosed…

  3. Pingback: Issue 3: Collapsing Economies and Emerging Economies « My Thoughts Enclosed…

  4. Pingback: Issue 3: Collapsing Economies and Emerging Economies « My Thoughts Enclosed…

  5. Pingback: A Commercially Viable Twitter in the Works: My Thoughts Enclosed… | Robert Lavigne's Social Media Dojo

Leave a Reply

